Tap into What You Love – Your Real Passion

I could dream if nothing else.  No one (not even myself) ever told me I would be an interior designer in my early years after college.  I love beautifully designed spaces, furniture, colors, architecture and all things design.  My career goal was to be a business teacher which I did on a full-time basis for many years while my decorating projects, event planning, wedding planning and coordination, floral designing, & more creative ventures evolved into the ownership of a part-time decorating & design small business.

I remember looking at pictures of decorated rooms in magazine after magazine and thinking; I can do that.  I tore out sheets and sheets of pictures only to sit there hoping that one day I would be able to (1) find the tear outs when I needed them–lol and (2) have a house as beautiful as those air-brushed, beautifully staged room pictures.

But one day I came into my own realization of possibilities.  As a daring young, self-motivated person, I began decorating rooms/houses for friends and family; and I got pretty good at it too.  Before I knew it, I was well on my way to being an interior decorator.  I had clients, referrals, and the whole ball of wax.  My own house began to shape up to become one that others really admired and thought was beautiful as I eventually replaced all of the starter furniture and “junk that I thought was great” with some much nicer pieces and choices.

That was a long time ago.  And today, I have a degree in interior designer with the ability to design not only interiors for beauty, form, and function; but I am also a kitchen and bath designer.  Go figure.  As I am still learning and developing daily; I love the challenges and opportunities.

I tapped into what I love.  My passion was and still is design.   So, I suggest to you:  Tap into what you love to realize your passion and your possibilities in life.  Enjoy!

Note:  I shared this small tidbit of my story because I just recently listened to one of my mentors as she said, blog—and start by writing about your “authentic self” as you blog. 

Leave a comment